Seasons of Change

It’s still hot out here in Salt Lake City, at a time when fall temperatures would usually have kicked in already (at least that’s what they tell me).

Still, in the early, darkness-cloaked, deliciously solitary hours of the morning, I can feel it coming. There’s a nip in the air now; one that causes the hairs on the back of my neck to stand at attention. There is a world of potential in those moments, and if you listen carefully, you can hear your own heart beat along to the rhythm of that potential. You are part of that potential, and there is so much you can do and be on this day.

I’ve been reminded of this recently, reminded of my own potential and my own ability to change the course of my life by harnessing the power of positive thought.

I have a renewed wish to spread this message around, as it had previously been my modus operandi. We all have times in our lives that we’re not so proud of, times when we are blinded or overwhelmed by the challenges that face us, times when we forget who we really are and try desperately to just make it from one day to the next. (Note: Do NOT underestimate the power and ability of sleep deprivation in sending you down a crazy spiral of slowly and painfully LOSING YOUR MIND.)

Once we pick ourselves up off the floor, however, those times should be reflected upon as a time of learning, and we should recognize that we have become stronger, more resilient people as a result.

A part of spreading the message of positivity and potential, for me, has been teaching yoga. I had the gift and blessing of having a number of people be willing to allow me to guide them through a weekly practice for a number of months between 2009 – April of this year. It was humbling and amazing, and I will never forget the sense of service and the collective energy of that room.

Then, a few months ago, our family moved to Salt Lake City. With new surroundings, new schedules, and new commitments, it’s been a challenge figuring out how to go back to teaching. But I’m ready now. I know that it helps me more than it helps the people who join me in my classes, by giving me a sense of contribution, of connectivity to others, of providing (hopefully) at least one person with something to reflect on and/or simply enjoy.

So, wish me luck in my journey as I brush the dust off my practice, regain my voice, and find some new victims friends to share yoga with.

One Response to Seasons of Change

  1. rodney says:

    Just reading your message has inspired me to take action and start right now, in this very moment, on the path to a more balanced trinity (mind-body-spirit).

    Sukran.

Leave a Reply

