Dat’s Two Words

Giggling on the couch, wrestling and tickling my almost-4 year old wonder, silliness rising, happiness enveloping. Jumping, attacking, and creating imaginary fight scenes.

I never thought I would be good at this.

Always a tomboy, but never really a boy, I thought I would get tired of the wrestling, the trucks, the trains. But this one, he has the ability to make it all fun, to make me want to come into his world.

He steals my heart every day, this boy with the shining brown eyes, filled with playfulness and mischief. His smile is irresistable, his little body unstoppable. He goes and goes and goes with endless energy, and it’s contagious. I gather all 31 pounds of him in my arms and sneak in a hug before continuing with our Kung Fu fight scene.

We move off of the couch, and he runs away. He is drunk with energy and activity, and in the middle of one of his self-orbit frenzy, he stops, looks straight at me, and blurts out,
“HELLO POOPOO!”

I decide this is the moment to draw the line, pull out the Parenting manual, and teach him about respectfully addressing elders.

I try really hard to keep a straight face, but find it almost impossible.
“NO. That is not a nice word to use when you talk to someone.”

A moment of silence. His eyes quickly search my face to make sure he’s right about his instinct – that his mom is desperately trying to be serious, but that in truth, she is fighting laughter with every ounce of strength she has.

“AAACSHALLY, mama, dat’s TWO words.”

Aaaand, I’m done. We fall over each other, laughing  hysterically at his joke, holding on to each other for dear life as we try not to fall off our couch fortress.

He is my joy.

3 Responses to Dat’s Two Words

  1. rodney says:

    Whaaaaa :( i miss that soooo much.

  2. kinziblogs says:

    PreSHUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUS! Thanks for reminding me to give in to my daughter’s renewed desire for tickle fights. entering their little world is so important .

    Sigh, that is one cute story. Must be time to give that little critter a little brother!

Leave a Reply

