Projects Done Wrong

It’s been a rough week.

I am deflated, and am fighting feelings of failure, even though I know the end-result will actually be a win for everyone involved, and even though I know I did the right thing.

The background: I’ve been spending endless hours on a project that was supposed to go live this week. I worked really hard on it, rolled my sleeves up and got into the nitty-gritty, and demanded the same level of committment from all the project participants. We built a great working relationship and really had a high caliber of teamwork going on.

Unfortunately, there were things we couldn’t have known until we got into the test environment and really experienced things firsthand. The team was blind to the end-result until it was almost too late.

As someone who’s worked with different software development models, this frustrates me.
This is exactly the problem with development and testing that are not done in an iterative fashion. Not knowing until the end. Guessing. Making judgement calls without having all the required information at hand.

I was the one who raised the red flag and said “No, we are not doing this.” Others were willing to maybe give it a try (in Production!!), and “see how it goes”. I knew instinctively how much of a mess and burning at the stake that approach would cause, and simply could not allow things to move forward.

I presented my case to management, explained the risks of going live with the project/development in its current state, and they agreed with my approach. Relief.

Still, I can’t shake the feeling that a lot of people have spent a lot of time to get things to where they are today, and that I’ve let them down. I know we will have an opportunity to set things right, and that’s what I’m trying to focus on. It’s hard, though, because I don’t like to be in this place.
I like to be winning, making everyone happy, and making projects come alive.

Time to reflect for a bit and turn inwards, so that I hopefully come back stronger and wiser…

2 Responses to Projects Done Wrong

  1. susu says:

    Sorry to hear that, Hala!

  2. wintersamar says:

    Ugh, no fun….I hope the next project works out a little better!

Leave a Reply

