All About the Belly

The past few weeks have been all about the belly.

Boys all around me at home, means more focus on the food. I will admit, trying to support a growing life inside my own belly while working more hours than I want to think about leaves me with less than a raging appetite for eating OR cooking. Still, I have my moments where I man up (heheh), put on that apron, and whip something up that I can feel proud of.

Unfortunately, I haven’t been taking many pictures. Here’s what I do have: pictures of my recent adventures in gingerbread! I’ve made ginger cookies before, but not real gingerbread. I typically love ginger-anything, but my tastes have been altered so dramatically lately that I don’t really like much of anything, especially things I typically like.

But when my little one came home one day asking me if we could “PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE MAMA” make gingerbread men, with his big brown eyes swallowing up about half of his face, I said yes before realizing what was coming out of my mouth. The glimmer in his eyes and the “YAAAAAAY!” that escaped his own little mouth were totally worth it.

So, we made gingerbread men. And I think we did a pretty goood job. Wanna see?

A closeup:

In other belly news, we are going to Las Vegas this weekend. Yes, Las Vegas on Christmas. I don’t know if we’re crazy or nuts, but I have a feeling it’s a combination of both, for a number of reasons:
1) We’re driving there. With a preschooler. One who does NOT like sitting still for any length of time, and fights naps with steely conviction. I will fall asleep in the car eons before his eyelids even start to get heavy.
2) It’s Christmas weekend. Which means that normal people will be spending the holiday with family. I.e., they won’t be in Vegas.
3) Everyone in our house has been sick this past week/10 days. As someone observantly noted,
“Mama! Baba’s germs jumped to you because you sleeped next to him in your bed! And den, your germs jumped to ME because you boos (kiss) me!”
Pretty accurate.

Of course one of the most important aspects of going to Vegas is the food, so I’ve been spending the last couple of days researching where to eat. But really, my main concern is: Will I enjoy it? My taste buds are shot from pregnancy and this yucky cold, and my tummy is totally unpredictable from one hour to the next.

I’m determined to make this trip fun, though, so I’ve created an itinerary! It involves monorail rides, volcanoes, sharks, arcades, inside amusement rides, and maybe a massage? Oh, and definitely, food. It doesn’t seem to matter at this point what I am or am not consuming, since Operation Belly Expansion is slowly but surely underway, so I might as well do my best to enjoy it!

Wish us luck, and for anyone celebrating, Happy Holidays!

6 Responses to All About the Belly

  1. nido says:

    We went to Las Vegas when were pregnant and we had a blast! You’ll love it there and the food will make you HAPPY!
    We are crazy too, my husband just decided we MUST go to lake Tahoe TOMORROW morning for the weekend! We started shopping for skiing clothes and stuff at 7 pm and I hope we are ready! Have fun you guys and wish us luck too ;)

  2. rodney says:

    Happy holidays, and have a safe journey.

  3. Dina says:

    Hi!
    Although it’s a bit late..but I love ginger bread and your picture looks great, can you please pass bay the reciepe?
    Many greetings from cold cold germany:)

Leave a Reply

