Tagged! Life is Good Award

Oh I can’t tell you how long I’ve been waiting to get tagged. And for it to happen via none other than the fabulous Kinzi of mytreasure only amplifies the excitement!! Thank you, dear Kinzi, for putting me on the map! (Literally, you probably brought in more than half the page views to my site) :)

So, here goes:

1. If you blog anonymously, are you happy doing this? If you aren’t anonymous, do you wish you started out anonymously, so that you could be anonymous now?

I tried being anonymous for a while on my previous blog, CafeLulu, but that didn’t work out very well, since I have a big mouth and can’t help but tell everyone everything. :)
I wondered for a long time about whether I should stay anonymous, but felt like the things I would be writing about would probably give my identity away anyway.
Short answer: I don’t regret not being anonymous.

2. Describe an incident that shows your inner stubborn side
Up until last week, I was pretty much in denial that I had actually moved from San Diego, California, (which happened 9 months ago). The stubbornness that is my mind kept me thinking, fantasizing, and even planning what I was going to do and where I was going to go once I got back “home”, presumably as soon as within a matter of weeks.  

Oh wait. That might be called psychosis, not stubbornness. Whatever.

3. What do you see when you really look at yourself in the mirror?

An amazing gift – the ability to harbor and grow one life within another.

I.e., I see my body expanding in directions that shouldn’t be allowed, but hey, the end-result is worth it, right? :)

I also see someone who wants to do the right thing, and who is trying to find her truth in the jungle that is her current life.

4. What is your favourite summer cold drink?

Lemonade with so much fresh mint mixed in that the drink is actually green. Chilled. Slushy. Yummy. Amman.

5. When you take time for yourself, what do you do?

Run. The pleasure I derive from pounding the pavement (or the Treadmill, in this current snowy freezing weather), has no match, and allows me to unload my frustrations and anxieties, leaving me more calm than before.

I also love to read, and after noticing I haven’t been doing enough of that since having a child, this year I’ve given up a lot of unnecessary TV time so I can read more. It’s been working!

6. Is there something that you still want to accomplish in your life?

Many things. I want to be more balanced, centered. I want to accomplish the ability to let go of my fear of the unknown and pursue the path that makes me happy, rather than the one that only pays the bills (hopefully the one that makes me happy will do both) ;)
I want to become a credible, published writer.
I want to continue to improve as a mother, partner, person.
I want to be my own boss.
I want to find a way to make a true contribution to society.
etc etc etc… 

7. When you attended school, were you the class clown, the class overachiever, the shy person, or always ditching?

Overachiever. I was kind of lost when it comes to my personality, so I was probably annoying. I hung out with some funny funny people for a while and tried my hand at being [one of the] class clown[s] for a while. Let’s not talk about how that went. 

8. If you close your eyes and want to visualize a very poignant moment in your life, what would you see

The moment when I found out I was going to be a mother, and not just an individual whose main concern was herself and her husband. I instantly became protective, as well as completely and fully in love with a person I didn’t even know yet.

9. Is it easy for you to share your true self in your blog, or are you more comfortable writing posts about other people and events?

Like I said earlier, I have a big mouth, and it’s REALLY hard for me to hide how I feel/who I am. As my close friends will attest, my face reveals exactly how I feel no matter how hard I try to hide it. So, why try?

I do feel like I had a struggle with self-censorship for a while, especially in light of the fact that I’m NOT anonymous, and don’t want to hurt or disappoint people who know who I am (and ahem may be related to me), but I think I’m finding (still working to perfect it) a way to still be myself while also being mindful/considerate.

10. If you had the choice to sit down and read a book or talk on the phone, which would you do and why?

Oh my goodness have you read my post about social awkwardness? Ok, shameless plug right there. But seriously, I would get an F in Phone Skills 101. I would rather be curled up with a book ANY day.

Aaaand, if you’ve made it this far, congratulations!!! I’m done blabbing and you can go back to your lives now, which are probably a lot more exciting than reading this. :)

Oh, and I would like to tag Winter Samar, Nido, loolt, and Susu!

2 Responses to Tagged! Life is Good Award

  1. kinziblogs says:

    hella hella ya Hala, you mean all five of my readers visited? ;)

    Great answers, and I love your list of things of what you want to accomplish….it seems you are being proactive to make each one happen. What a lovely mother’s heart, too.

    Excellent tags yourself! Several of them crossed my mind, but somehow I new others would pick them.

  2. wintersamar says:

    I enjoyed this and thanks for the tag!

Leave a Reply

