Free Fadi Quran – the latest Israeli assault on youth and hope

I decided long ago I would not make this a political blog. Frankly, there are others out there who are much more equipped to take on that endeavor than I am.

However, today, I will join the voices around the world that are speaking up on behalf of Fadi Quran, who was recently assaulted and arrested by Israeli forces during a non-violent protest in the West Bank. (Read more at The Atlantic and The Stanford Daily).

This post is not about being political. This post is about being human.

Fadi, who is a 24 year-old Stanford alumni and extraordinary young man, is also a colleague and friend of my own brother.
Fadi visited my home in 2010, where I had the chance and honor to meet (and feed!) him.

Immediately upon meeting him, I could tell that this young man would go on to make a difference in the world. Fadi has a peaceful, yet strong presence that can’t be denied, and a soul that immediately puts your own soul at ease. He comfortably and with ease was able to transition between speaking about issues of Palestinian-Israeli politics,internal American politics, world current events, and history. He has an opinion about everything, yet will never impose that opinion on you. He is generous with his thank-yous, and as genuine as they come.

At only 22 when I met him, Fadi was (and is) one of the most eloquent, well-read, intelligent, gentle human beings I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. 
Fadi is one of the young men that I am proud to have a connection to, and someone whom I look forward to watching as he inevitably brings his vision of leadership and peace to the Middle East.

Fadi has been interviewed and quoted by TIME Magazine, the New York Times, the Guardian, and Al Jazeera, and recognized as the “face of the new Middle East”.

My words cannot do you justice, Fadi, but hopefully our collective words can help bring justice to you.

Please join me in signing this petition to call for Fadi’s freedom. It would mean a lot to me, my family, Fadi’s family, and the future of a new generation of leaders. Please also feel free to leave comments here as a sign of solidarity and unity. Thank you for your compassion and support.

For more information, go to http://www.freefadi.org/, and read this article on policymic.com. These links also contain video of Fadi’s assault.

Free Fadi.

5 Responses to Free Fadi Quran – the latest Israeli assault on youth and hope

  1. Done. Glad I could add my voice to bring this injustice to light.

  2. halasaleh1 says:

    Rodney, I believe you actually met Fadi at our home in San Diego. Thank ou so much for adding your name to this petition. Wishing the best for Fadi and his family.

  3. Ahmad A. says:

    Thanks for writing this, Hala. It was simple yet very powerful.

  4. Pingback: Reality Check + Free Fadi « halistic

Leave a Reply

