My evolving relationship with Costco

Costco craziness
Photo credit: nytimes.com

Deep down in the depths of my heart, I possess a fear that you may call irrational, illogical, unwarranted. But it is there. And it is real.

Friends, I have Costco-phobia. The mass production, the generic nature of the products, the temptation to over-consume and over-waste, and the SIZE OF THOSE CARTS! You could fit a family of four in one of those, people!

For the longest time, I avoided shopping at Costco. I was fortunate enough to be able to afford shopping at the smaller, frou-frou shops and promised myself I would never be one of THOSE people I used to see walking out of Costco with 1 or 2 carts filled to the brim.

That was 2 children, a better economy, and many naive, inexperienced brain cells ago.

When our first son was about 1.5 or 2 years old, we ventured into our first Southern California Costco. My husband had to push me to keep walking IN, TOWARDS the aisles of merchandise, and away from the exit. As of that first visit, we weren’t yet convinced that we consumed enough to warrant shopping for things in such large quantities.

It was months before we went back to Costco for a 2nd visit, this time the reported savings on diapers and baby wipes being the main motivator. We felt so smart and pleased with ourselves as we walked up to the checkout counter, 2 items in hand (cart), the only ones checking out with less than $100 of stuff.

We became Costco members that year, and figured we’d probably only need to go for some basic essentials. We didn’t even have room in our teeny tiny apartment to STORE the bed of toilet paper that Costco sells, so in many ways, the decision was pretty much made for us to stick to only a couple of items per visit.

Then our son started eating actual food. And then we moved to a bigger apartment, with more storage space.

It started with toilet paper and laundry detergent. Innocent. Our boy didn’t even LIKE milk, so there was no way we were buying the crate of 3 huge milk containers just so we could throw out more than half of it!

Now, approximately 4 years later, I have become one of those people. I am the one pushing a FULL cart with 2 kids in the front and treasures of food and non-food related finds in its belly.

I don’t even recognize myself any more.

This post is mostly in jest, but in all seriousness, I would like to say the following:

Yes, I still fear the large quantities and the aisles of mass-produced, non-customized merchandise. But I am thankful, too.

Thankful that I have a family to provide for.
Thankful that my husband and I are ABLE to provide for our family.
Thankful that we can save a few dollars by buying things in quantities that I might not be comfortable with.
Thankful that we have been really good at only consuming what we need, avoiding waste, and resisting the temptation to buy and consume more just because it is available.

4 Responses to My evolving relationship with Costco

  1. bluecurl3 says:

    you have succumbed :(

  2. wintersamar says:

    As long as you recognize that over consumption is bad and don’t go OVERBOARD with your shopping…I’m sure you will be fine :)

    but I do agree, Costco has always scared me.

  3. Pingback: Back in the Running II « halistic

Leave a Reply

