Get well soon

My dear little baby, you are sick.

So, so sick.

Saturday, I found out that your raspy, tired cough is caused by RSV.
Then, after a sleepless night where you thrashed around for hours, I decided to get you checked again today, and we found out that on top of your lung infection, both of your little ears are infected too.

Someday, I’ll be able to look back and laugh at how much snot your little body was able to generate every time you sneezed today.
Someday, I won’t believe you were tired enough to prefer sitting in my lap with your head on my shoulder over scooting around from one end of the house to the other.

But not now.

Right now, every time a cough escapes your sore, tired lungs, something pulls at my heart strings and makes me wish I could take it all away.
Right now, every time you look up at me with your tired, red eyes, I wish I could do more to protect you from having to go through so much pain and discomfort.

One of the hardest things I have ever gone through as a parent is this.
This feeling of helplessness when there really is nothing more I can do. No magic cure, no wishing it all away, no reassuring words that will make it all better.

Your body is so full of tylenol, amoxicillin, saline drops, and ear drops that you have no appetite left for food or drink. Every bite I take feels tasteless, every drink useless.

I will gladly continue to endure the sleeplessness until you are better, as long as it affords you some level of comfort – even if it’s just by letting you know that I am here.

Get well soon, my baby. We’re all waiting for you to come back.

4 Responses to Get well soon

  1. wine4acause says:

    Awe baby’s get better soon.

  2. Sending you all love to get through this x

  3. Pingback: Paradigm shift « halistic

Leave a Reply

